SP elects  standing committee chairs

July 10, 2016 at 7:32 pm Leave a comment

DAGUPAN CITY – The new Sangguiang Panlungsod (SP) has elected the chairmen of different standing committees but defers the approval of its internal rules till the next session on July 12.
Witnessed by the members of the Manlingkor ya Kalangweran, the SP elected Councilor Maybelyn dela Cruz Fernandez as majority floor leader with Councilor Alvin Coquia as assistant majority floor leader; Councilor Jeslito “Jigs” Seen as SP Presiding Protempore and Jose Netu Tamayo as deputy presiding pProtempore.
Councilor Red Erfe Mejia was elected minority floor leader with Councilor Chito Samson as assistant minority leader.
Seen will also chair the following committees: Agriculture and Fisheries, Appropriations,  Arts, Culture and Heritage,  Environment and Natural Resources, Senior Citizens Affairs, and Economic Affairs.
Councilor Dennis Canto was elected as chairman of the committees on Health and Sanitation and Public Market.
Tamayo will chair the committees on Dangerous Drugs, Education, Land Utilization, Public Information and Media, Laws, Ordinances and Judiciary, and Peace and Order while Councilor Marvin Fabia will chair the Local and International Relations and the Housing and Urban Development.
Coquia was elected as chairman of the committees on Tourism, Trade and Industry, Youth and Sports Development, Transportation and Public Utilities, and Public Works and Infrastructure, while Liga ng mga Barangay President Lino Fernandez takes the Barangay Affairs committee.
Fernandez is also the chair of the committees on Rules and Procedure, Women, Children and Family Affairs; Labor and Employment, and Social Welfare and Community Development.

Aside from being the minority floor leader, Mejia was elected to chair the committee on Cooperative and Livelihood Development; Population and Demography, Poverty Alleviation, and People’s Participation.
“Just like in any other political organization the purpose of the legislative body is to push the agenda of the Executive and so most of the chairmanships were taken by the majority. This is the privilege of the majority. This is not a tyranny of the majority because this is not illegal,” explained Tamayo, a lawyer. (Joseph C. Bacani/CIO)

Entry filed under: News.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Welcome to Northern Watch Online.You are visitor no.

  • 768,224 since Feb. 10, 2009

Events Watch

sugod agri-expo Photobucket

Last Week’s Cartoon


Day Watch

July 2016
« Jun   Aug »
Regional blogs & blog posts
Regional blogs
Media blogs
Opinion blogs
Community blogs

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,388 other followers

%d bloggers like this: