MAGANES: Handling ‘block time radio programs’ wasn’t easy

May 15, 2016 at 3:57 am Leave a comment


vir
 
The election period will soon come to end on June 30. That will be the day when the newly elected leaders will take their oaths of office giving them the mandate to govern and perform their duties and responsibilities of the positions they ran for and emerged victorious.
 
In Pangasinan, the political fight between the camp of Cojuangcos and Espinos came in unexpectedly. The Cojuangcos- Mark O. Cojuangco for governor and wife Kimi S. Cojuangco, a re-electionst for representative in the 5th District who was expected to win, did not materialize. For governorship akin to a boxing bout, Mark was floored by Amado I. Espino III by knockout together with his wife Kimi who was left black eyed and knocked out by the outgoing Governor Amado T. Espino Jr. Indeed, in politics things come unexpectedly and no amount of radio programs, press releases, etc. could change the mindset of the Pangasinenses.
 
There must be hidden factors behind the defeats of the Cojuangcos- factors that have to be analyzed lengthily in order for their supporters to be enlightened but I will not dwell on them  here. I believe that winning the polls is more of political tactics and strategies that each camp have to employ, whether they are acceptable or not.
 
It was on September 25, 2014 that I was tapped to handle a “block time commentary program” for the Cojuangcos. It was a work that was not Greek to me especially that the program was aired at Bombo Radyo Dagupan, me having a “Dugong Bombo” back in 1989 when I was the Station Manager of Bombo Radyo La Union. Since I believe on the political cause of Mark Cojuangco, I accepted the work for a daily 30-minute commentary program, which will start at 5:00 in the morning.

 
Imagine the rigors I had to take. Since I reside in Villasis, I had to wake up at 3:00 in the morning to be at the radio station in Dagupan City at 4:00 in the morning. It was not really a tedious work. It was exciting because I prepared a commentary format not to dwell on personal lives of Cojuangco’s political opponents.
 Daily, I had to prepare issues delving on the characters and advocacies of Mark Cojuangco, apropos to my radio program’s title ” Gising Pangasinan!”
 
That was my routine until February 2015 when it was decided that the ” block time program” contract ended. In the middle of February 2015, Lina Manaois Cervantes of DWPR Radyo Asenso requested me to assist her in re-programming the station’s radio programs. I accepted, thinking of better avenues for the commentary programs in favor of the Cojuangcos. There, we conceptualized, “On Your Marks” programs with two editions- 7:15-8:00 AM and 10:15-11:00AM. I handled the second edition program until I was again called to handle a program at Bombo Radyo Dagupan in April 2015 for the 6:30-7:00AM slot reviving my “Gising Pangasinan” program.Unluckily, I was told that DWPR Radyo Asenso will not accept “commentators” handling other program in other station so I had to drop “On Your Marks, 2nd Edition”.
 
 In June 2015, the “block time program” at Bombo Radyo Dagupan had to end. I was then assigned to handle another program at DZRD Sonshine Radio titled ” Ang Bagong Bayan Po(e)” at 8:00-9:00 AM zeroing on the political aspirations for the presidency of Sen. Grace Poe, with the gubernatorial aspiration of Mark Cojuangco on the second par of the program including Abono Partylist and Samahang Industriya ng Agrikultura (Sinag) of Engr. Rosendo O. So that time, I was allowed to handle my previous program at DWPR, “On Your Mark, 2nd Edition” with various co-anchors- Macky Delgado whom I fondly called Tomodachi because of his penchant to talk like Japanese,  Jerry Cambay whom I called Amigo because we were then referred to as Folgoso, a famous Mexican Dog of “Marimar” a Mexican telenovela. Those commentary “block time radio programs” continued until the election period.
 
Why I am writing these things? Broadcasters or commentators particularly if one is handling “block time radio programs” in favor of political candidates is no mean feat. It is hard- hard that the counter programs by the other camps will not only dwell on issues but even to call you names that are unpalatable to the listening public. Worst was that the counter programs have commentators who have been your friends for years and because of political leanings, the friendships have to be severed. That’s the part where I regretted handling “block time political programs”.
 
However, the novelty of handling ‘block time radio programs” is to work on issues against the political opponents of those you are working for. Issues have to be researched and presented on broadcast to be understood by the radio listeners. Toying words over the radio are also novelties. There are co-anchors who are well prepared and could talk on issues without any rehearsal or detailing facts into the issues.
 
But there are co-anchors also who are mediocre who could not even throw any line in the course of commentary discussions. That’s how radio life works. But the bottomline is, if you are enjoying what you are doing and you believe in of what you were saying, broadcasting whether “block time” or not is an enjoyable activity. And that’s what I had experienced.
 
Is there enough money in “radio commentary programs”?  That will depend on the patrons paying the “block time programs’. Working on commentary radio programs was not after all well compensated. There are other “commentators” with a 30-minute program every other day who are paid more than those working for a 3-hour “commentary programs” daily in a week. That’s the saddest part of it.
 
But if you ask me, after this election will I still handle political commentary programs in future elections? My answer is YES. Working in radio has that sense of self-fulfillment especially if one like me, has dreamed of being a broadcaster when I was still young.
 
Anyway, I congratulate all the winners of the last concluded electoral process last May 9. To the losers, next time is not hard to accept. Isn’t it?
 
( For comments email me at emperorvirgil@yahoo.com. Visit my blog The Roving Pen at http://www.virgilmaganes.wordpress.com)
Entry filed under: News.

THANK YOU   Nato Abrenica returns in Villasis

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Northern Watch Online.You are visitor no.

  • 654,942 since Feb. 10, 2009

Events Watch

sugod agri-expo Photobucket

Last Week’s Cartoon

Photobucket

Day Watch

May 2016
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Regional blogs & blog posts
Regional blogs
Media blogs
Opinion blogs
Community blogs

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,348 other followers


