Pangasinan State U installs 6th president

September 19, 2015 at 8:12 pm Leave a comment

DAGUPAN CITY– The academic community of Pangasinan State University (PSU) officially installed Dr. Dexter Buted as its sixth president in an investiture ceremony held on September 10 at the CSI Stadia here.

Dr. Manolito Manuel, PSU vice-president for student services, extension and training, said the investiture ceremony – as one of the oldest traditions in the academe – signified the ceremonial transfer of authority and symbols of high office and the pursuit of knowledge.

“More importantly, the occasion was a symbolic day to welcome a new academic era and an opportunity to look ahead to the future and shine a light on the PSU’s critical and outstanding work in fulfilling its vision and mission,” Manuel said.

The event included an academic procession of the country’s Commission on Higher Education (CHED) officials, presidents from other colleges and universities as well as the institution’s university officials and key stakeholders.

Buted said the university wass donning a new image to update its thrusts so as to cope with the current demands of a competitive service provider to the global and ASEAN range countries.

Part of its new image are changes in the institutional suit including the reformulation of the University’s vision and mission which coincides with the change of the official institutional seal, Buted said.

“These recent historic transformations in the foremost symbols of our system goes with the fervent hope of our local administration that these will encourage more efficient commerce, enterprising and mutual support with our agency partners in the government and those in the private sectors, and all other organizations in the different communities that we serve,” he said.

Before Buted, past university presidents were: Dr. Telesforo Boquiren, 1978-1985; Dr. Reynaldo Segui (officer-in-charge), 1985-1986; Dr. Rufino Eslao, 1986-1992; Dr. Reynaldo Segui, 1992-June 1999; Dr. Rodolfo Asanion, June 1999-2007; and Dr. Victoriano Estira, June 2007- 2014.

At present, PSU has nine campuses located in Alaminos City, Asingan, Bayambang, Binmaley, Infanta, Lingayen, San Carlos City, Santa Maria, and Urdaneta City. (VHS/AMM/PIA-1, Pangasinan)


Entry filed under: News.

Grace, Chiz still undecided on 2016 elections

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Welcome to Northern Watch Online.You are visitor no.

  • 752,405 since Feb. 10, 2009

Events Watch

sugod agri-expo Photobucket

Last Week’s Cartoon


Day Watch

September 2015
« Aug   Oct »
Regional blogs & blog posts
Regional blogs
Media blogs
Opinion blogs
Community blogs

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

%d bloggers like this: