MAYOR’S CUP 2014 Villasis holds victory ball

May 26, 2014 at 7:48 am Leave a comment

by Virgilio Sar. Maganes

VILLASIS-It was a fun-filled night at the Villasis Public Auditorium last May 22. Cagers, coaches, tournament management and village officials converged to culminate the Mayor’s Cup 2014: Inter- Barangay Basketball Tournament, the Victory Ball and Awarding Ceremonies.

The basketball tournament started last March 28 and ended on May 18 with teams coming from the 21 barangays of the town. This year’s tournament was sponsored by the Liga ng Mga Barangay headed by its Liga President Romeo S. Abrenica who said that the funds for the activities came from the sports and youth appropriations in each barangay that used to be under the Sangguniang Kabataan (SK).

The Mayor’s Cup is on its 5th year of implementation. It’s an annual summer sports activity among basketball aficionados of the town and to inculcate among the youth the importance of physical fitness and to encourage them to hone their skills of the country’s number one sports- basketball.

That was the gist of the welcome address of Liga President Abrenica, also the village head of Barraca, who said that “summer activities have just been concluded but still the heart continues with the merriment and warmth of the summer are still being felt by us.”

He also said that “fitness requires discipline among the youth and sports are being done both for fitness and enjoyment.”

” Discipline breeds good citizens. Problems in our community will be lessened and cooperation strengthened,” said Liga President Abrenica.

In her message, Vice Mayor Paz Sison Rafanan lauded the Liga ng Mga Barangay for sponsoring the Mayor’s Cup saying “year after year, the tournament keeps on improving and players are skillfully fit.”
“We hope that in the coming years, the tournament will be even more successful. Rest assured that the Sangguniang Bayan and my office will always be supportive of the sports activities in our town, to bond sportsmanship and to instill discipline and camaraderie among the youth. Let’s be united for progress and peace,” Vice Mayor Rafanan said.
Mayor Libradita Go- Abrenica commended the Liga ng mga Barangay, tournament’s management, referees and the 21 basketball teams for their support to the almost two months basketball tournament.
“You are all winners for without you this tournament would have not been realized. I hope that next year the participation would be wider in scope. You have to start looking for new players and give them the chance to develop their talents and skills,” Mayor Abrenica said.
She also informed the audience that the municipal government is improving the bleachers outside the gymnasium for outdoor sports activities. ” The gymnasium will also be repaired, improved and expanded.
This year’s top winners are: Unzad Team (Champion) with a trophy and P30,000.00; San Blas Team (1st runner up) with trophy and P20,000.00; Barraca Team (2nd runner up) with trophy P15,000.00 and Capulaan Team (3rd runner up) with trophy and P10,000.00. Piaz Team was awarded as the Most Disciplined Team with a trophy and P1,000.00.
For the mythical 10 players, awardees with a medal each are: Ariel Siasat (Capulaan), Raymart Aquino (Unzad), Gilbert Salazar (Unzad), RJ Evangelista (Barraca), Mark Anthony Quirona (Unzad), Lester Marron (Barraca), Lloyd Figuracion (San Blas), Lawrence Evangelista (Capulaan), Daniel Cabato ( Barraca) and Louie Flores ( San Blas).

The mythical five players with medal each are: Rodolfo Echalas ( Barraca), Gilbert Salazar (Unzad), Jonnel Heruela (San Blas), Raymund Millano (San Blas) and Rodolfo Parino (Unzad) who was also awarded as the most valuable player (MVP) with a cash prize of P1,000.00.

Other awardees are: Jonnel Heruela (San Blas) for Most Improved Player, Ariel Siasat (Capulaan) for Sportsmanship Award and Nicumar Leo R. Blanco(Unzad) for Best Coach.

The tournament’ management are composed of the following: Commissioners -Manny Olpindo, Jay-ar Gonzalez, and Rowel Bascos, Committee Officials- Darwin Villablanca, Alex Quirona, Melchor Perez, Avelino Cacapit Jr., Dexter Solomon, Jojo Mangala, Reynato Olpindo, Edwin Solomon, and Jinco Mangala; and the referees are: Joel Solomon, Bryan Bascos, Bobby Colcol, Roldan Olpindo, Boying Macadang, Dyango Estabillo, Ulysses Chan and Zaldy Feliciano.

Entry filed under: News.

Law Enforcement Brass at SOCA MAGANES: Mayor Belen Fernandez: A leader with a big heart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Welcome to Northern Watch Online.You are visitor no.

  • 973,370 since Feb. 10, 2009

Events Watch

sugod agri-expo Photobucket

Last Week’s Cartoon


Previous issues

Day Watch

May 2014
Regional blogs & blog posts
Regional blogs
Media blogs
Opinion blogs
Community blogs

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,470 other followers

%d bloggers like this: